Joint Statement

- Based on resolution No. 4/37- MM, operative paragraph No.4, issued by the 37th CFM session, which urged the Rohingya parties to cooperate and unite their ranks under a united coordination council and calls on them to continue their efforts to reclaim their rights. "Commends the efforts of the Secretary General aimed at coordinating the work of the Rohingya Muslim organizations and uniting their ranks under a united coordination council and calls on him to continue these efforts to reclaim their rights;"
- With reference to the MoU signed by the Senior Rohingya Leaders on June 8th-9th, 2010 under the patronage of H.E the Secretary General of OIC Prof. Ekmeleddin Ihsanoglu, an expanded Convention was jointly convened by OIC and EBO with the participation of Eminent Rohingya Leaders on 30th -31st May, 2011. The ARU appeals to the OIC Secretary General to recognize the ARU as an independent organization representing the Rohingya people.
- Mr.Talal Daous, the Director of the Muslim Minorities and Communities Department represented the OIC Secretary General Prof. Ekmeleddin Ihsanoglu and Mr.Harn Yawnghwe represented the Euro-Burma Office in this Convention which was held at the Headquarters of the OIC General Secretariat. Participants agreed on the following:
 - 1. The Convention has formed the Arakan Rohingya Union (ARU) to seek a political solution to the problems faced by the Rohingya people.
 - 2. The ARU was formed on the agreed principles of an indivisible Arakan State, Peaceful Co-existence, Democracy and Human Rights, and Federalism.
 - 3. The Convention agreed upon the establishment of an ARU Congress which is currently composed of 25 organizations.

- 4. The ARU Congress will seek to include representatives of all Rohingya organizations.
- 5. The Convention agreed upon the establishment of an ARU Council to oversee the affairs of the ARU.
- 6. The Convention confirms 10 members of the Council:
 - 1. Mr. Abul Faiz Jilani, Bangladesh
 - 2. Mr. Imum Ahmad, KSA
 - 3. Mr. Ko Ko Lin (Mohammed kalim), Bangladesh
 - 4. Dr. Mohammed Yunus, Bangladesh
 - 5. Mr. Nurul Islam, UK
 - 6. Ustaz Salim Ullah, KSA
 - 7. Mr. Reza Uddin, USA
 - 8. Mr. Sayed Hussein, Norway
 - 9. Mr. Zaw Min Htut, Japan
 - 10.Dr. Muhammed Eyup Han, Turkey
- 7. The Council members are appointed for an initial term of one and a half years. Subsequent elections will take place at each annual Congress.
- 8. The Convention agreed upon the establishment of an Advisory Board. The four founding members and Dr. Wakar Uddin will decide on the membership of the Advisory Board which must be ratified by the Congress.
- 9. The Convention agreed upon the establishment of a Secretariat which will administer the affairs of the ARU.
- 10. The Convention elected Dr. Wakar Uddin, USA, as the Director General of the Secretariat for an initial period of 1 ½ years.
- 11. The Convention agreed to establish the following coordinators also for an initial period of 1 ½ years:
 - i) International Affairs Maung Tun Khin, UK
 - ii) Fund Raising Dr Mohammed Ali, UAE
 - iii) Domestic, Cultural & Education Nezam (Ronnie), KSA

- iv) Refugee Affairs Abdul Hamid, Malaysia
- v) Media and Information Nurul Islam, Bangladesh
- 12. The Convention agreed to establish a Charter which will be drafted by the Director General, the four founding members, Mr. Zaw Min Htut, and Mr. Maung Tun Khin. The Congress will ratify the Charter at its first meeting.
- 13. The Convention agreed that the Arakan Rohingya Union (ARU) shall register itself as a non-profit organization in the USA.
- 14. The participants expressed their gratitude and appreciation for the efforts of the Secretary General of the OIC H.E. Prof. Ekmeleddin Ihsanoglu, the department of the Muslim Minorities and Communities, and Mr.Harn Yawnghwe for convening this historic convention of the Senior Rohingya Leaders in order to bring peace, prosperity, and hope for the future to the Rohingya people.

Signed by all participants in the Convention on May 31st, 2011.

	NAME	<u>ORGN</u>	Country	<u>Signature</u>
1	Abdul Hamid	RSM	Malaysia	elli of
2	Ustaz Ibrahim Abdulsatar	RWF	KSA	
3	Fayas Ahmed	KPN	Bangladesh	Ems.
4	Rashid Al-Haque	ARDO	KSA) manage
5	MUHAMMED Dr./Eyup Han	FWF	Turkey	W
6	1	RIWA	Pakistan	() () () () () ()
7	Kyaw Maung Shamsul Islam	BRCA	Australia	Men

V.					
	8	Dr. Mohammad Yunus	RSO	Bangladesh	Marine June
	9	Dr. Mohammed Ali	BRAUAE	UAE	WILL.
	10	Mohammed Ibrahim	BROG	Germany	Janua E:
	11	Nurul Islam	ARNO	UK	gume graff
	12	Nurul Islam	CRCS	Bangladesh	CATTURE -
	13	Reza Uddin	ORS	USA	Brauli
	14	Abdul Hafiz	RUC	KSA	O CONTRACTOR OF THE PARTY OF TH
	15	Zaw Min Htut	BRAJ	Japan	Zawer C-
	16	Sayed Hussein	RCN	Norway	Sayed
	17	Maung Tun Khin	BROUK	UK	Baller
	18	Ustaz Salim Ullah	RSOR	KSA	al
	19	Dr. Wakar Uddin	BRANA	USA	Wahn Cidelin
	20	Imum Ahmed	ANC	KSA	
	21	Mohammed Saleem	RMWA	KSA	and the
	22	Mohammed Rafique	ITM	Bangladesh	- Poppe
	23	Mohammed Haroon	RLDB	Australia	
	24	Dr.Bashir Ahmed	RNP	KSA	22. N

Blu

Witnessed by:

Mr.Talal Dous Director of MMC

OIC

EBO

Mr.Harn Yawnghwe

Executive Director

Shaikh Ayub Abushama

AL JAMMAL

Nour Al-Zubair Shams AlHaq

Shaikh Ayub Musharaf Jamal

Shaikh Abushama Abdulmajeed

Imam Hussein Madany